My Prestashop store : I regularly do my backups.

Category: Advice

You focus on your sales and stock, but you often forget to protect your data ! I am not yet going to launch alerts on the risks of crashing, file loss or hacking, we talk about it quite often. But it is more than necessary to make regular backups of your store : client files, products, sales etc…

Here is a quick guide to allow you to save your shop. Attention, it concerns the version 1.7 by Prestashop (current version)

The database

First you should know that Prestashop, like WordPress and content managers (CMS) consist of 2 parties : the database on the one hand, the site, son design, his photos and his extensions on the other hand. Of course the database and the data are extremely linked.

On Prestashop 1.7 the data backup procedure is simplified. You have to go to the Back Office (your management interface) – Click on the menu “advanced settings” to the left.

You will then arrive on the database management page – Then click on “BDD backup”

You will then see some instructions. It is better to put the store in maintenance mode the time to proceed with the backup. You can click on the button “I read the warning – Create a backup” – The system will “mill”, wait for the continuation without clicking again.

You will arrive on this message inviting you to save your file on your hard drive – to finalize the backup.

A copy of the backups remains on the server. So you have two backups in two different places – the system is therefore secure.

The site and the data.

As I told you above, the database is the engine of your store, on the other hand, don't forget to save the game “physique” of the site : the template, photos, extensions, etc…

The best solution is to copy the content of your accommodation to your hard drive. For that, I advise you to use Filezilla which is in my opinion the most suitable and reliable product to manage these copies simply. This is software for transferring files from one server to another or from a server to a PC using the FTP protocol (File Transfert Protocol).

It is easy to use and I recommend this tutorial which will indicate the manipulations to be carried out. Filezilla is suitable for backing up all your sites whether it's Prestashop, WordPress or your HTML / CSS site. However, it will never be able to directly back up your databases.

Do not hesitate to contact me if you have problems finding the technical parameters of your accommodation. It is indeed necessary to configure an FTP access on your account.

Third-party solutions

To make your task easier, you can go through third-party software as a Prestashop extension. You will find them easily online, an average amount ranging from 50 at 200 €.

You have to choose the plugin, because remember that any software grafted to your store can be a gateway for piracy. Also look at the developer's sales number, remarks and follow-up to avoid DIY enthusiasts. Optionally make your choice in Prestashop certified extensions.

Good backups !

Leave a comment

welcome

Subscribe to the newsletter

Nous gardons vos données privées et ne les partageons qu’avec les tierces parties qui rendent ce service possible. Lire notre politique de confidentialité pour plus d’informations.
.

Ma boutique Prestashop : je fais régulièrement mes sauvegardes.

Category: Conseils

Vous vous concentrez sur vos ventes et votre stock, mais vous oubliez souvent de protéger vos données ! Je ne vais pas encore lancer des alertes sur les risques de plantage, de perte de fichiers ou de piratage, nous en parlons assez souvent. Mais il est plus que nécessaire de faire des sauvegardes régulières de votre boutique : les fichiers clients, produits, ventes etc…

Voici un topo rapide pour vous permettre de sauvegarder votre boutique. Attention, il concerne la version 1.7 de Prestashop (version actuelle)

La base de données

Tout d’abord il faut savoir que Prestashop, comme WordPress et les gestionnaires de contenu (CMS) sont constitués de 2 parties : la base de données d’une part, le site, son design, ses photos et ses extensions d’autre part. Bien entendu la base et les données sont extrêmement liées.

Sur Prestashop 1.7 la procédure de sauvegarde de données est simplifiée. Il faut vous rendre dans le Back Office (votre interface de gestion) – Cliquez sur le menu “Paramètres avancés” à gauche.

Vous arriverez alors sur la page de gestion de la base – Cliquez alors sur “Sauvegarde BDD”

Vous verrez ensuite quelques consignes. Il vaut mieux mettre la boutique en mode maintenance le temps de procéder à la sauvegarde. Vous pouvez cliquer sur le bouton “J’ai lu l’avertissement – Créer une sauvegarde” – Le système va “mouliner”, attendez la suite sans cliquer à nouveau.

Vous arriverez sur ce message vous invitant à enregistrer votre fichier sur votre disque dur – pour finaliser la sauvegarde.

Une copie des sauvegardes reste sur le serveur. Vous avez ainsi deux sauvegardes sur deux endroits différents  – le système est donc sécurisé.

Le site et les données.

Comme je vous le disais plus haut, la base de données est le moteur de votre boutique, par contre il ne faut pas oublier de sauvegarder la partie “physique” du site : le template, les photos, les extensions, etc…

La meilleure solution consiste à copier le contenu de votre hébergement sur votre disque dur. Pour cela, je vous conseille d’utiliser Filezilla qui est à mon sens le produit le plus adapté et le plus fiable pour gérer simplement ces copies. C’est un logiciel destiné à transférer les fichiers d’un serveur à l’autre ou d’un serveur à un PC utilisant le protocole FTP (File Transfert Protocol).

Il est simple d’utilisation et je vous conseille ce tutoriel qui vous indiquera les manipulations à effectuer. Filezilla convient pour sauvegarder tous vos sites que ça soit Prestashop, WordPress ou votre site HTML/CSS. Par contre il ne pourra jamais sauvegarder directement vos bases de données.

N’hésitez pas à me contacter si vous avez des soucis pour trouver les paramètres techniques de votre hébergement. Il est nécessaire en effet de paramétrer un accès FTP sur votre compte.

Les solutions tierces

Pour vous faciliter la tache, vous pouvez passer par un logiciel tiers sous forme d’extension Prestashop. Vous les trouverez facilement en ligne, d’un montant moyen allant de 50 à 200 €.

Il faut bien choisir le plugin, car n’oubliez pas que tout logiciel greffé à votre boutique peut être une voie d’entrée pour du piratage. De plus regardez le nombre de ventes du développeur, les remarques et le suivi afin d’éviter les bricoleurs. Eventuellement faites votre choix dans des extensions certifiées Prestashop.

Bonnes sauvegardes !

Laisser un commentaire

Bienvenue

Inscrivez-vous à la Newsletter

Nous gardons vos données privées et ne les partageons qu’avec les tierces parties qui rendent ce service possible. Lire notre politique de confidentialité pour plus d’informations.
.